Skip to content

About

Low-power DC measurement and logging system using a Seeed Studio XIAO-ESP32S3-Plus with an Adafruit microSD Card BFF shield and a Texas Instrument INA228 measurement module.

Topics

Resources

Stars

0 stars

Watchers

0 watching

Forks

Latest commit

 

History

47 Commits

Folders and files

Repository files navigation

PowerTrace

Minimal setup and run instructions for PowerTrace.

Prerequisites

Hardware

Software

  • Python 3.14+
  • PyCharm 2026.0+

Installation

git clone https://github.com/Christ0u/PowerTrace.git
cd PowerTrace

Create and activate virtual environment

python.exe -m venv .venv
.\.venv\Scripts\activate

Install dependencies

pip install -r requirements.txt

PyCharm configuration

Python interpreter configuration

Open PyCharm

  1. File > Open and select the project folder
  2. File > Settings > Python > Interpreter
  3. Add Interpreter > Add Local Interpreter
  4. Select existing and point to the project's virtual environement (...\.venv\Scripts\python.exe)

MicroPython configuration

  1. File > Settings > Languages & Frameworks > MicroPython Tools
  2. Check the Enable MicroPython support box
  3. Hold the BOOT button on the ESP32-S3 while plugging USB
  4. Click Install or update MicroPython firmware:
    • MCU: ESP32S3
    • Board variant: XIAO ESP32S3
    • Check the Erase flash first box
    • Uncheck the Connect to the device after flashing box
    • Click Flash and wait for completion
  5. Reconnect the board, select the correct COM port in MicroPython Tools menu and click Connect device

Running configuration

Click on Run / Debug Configurations drop-down menu then Edit Configurations

Add new run configuration > MicroPython Tools > Upload

  • Name: PowerTrace
  • Define a source mapping with Local path: <project folder>

Recommended exclusions

Value Exclude type Exclude from uploads Exclude from synchronisation
/venv Absolute Path Yes No
/LICENSE Absolute Path Yes No
/pyproject.toml Absolute Path Yes No
/temp Absolute Path Yes No
/doc Absolute Path Yes No
*.md Pattern Yes No
*.txt Pattern Yes No
.* Pattern Yes No

Check the Reset on success (Soft Reset) and Synchronize boxes

Running the project

Select the PowerTrace configuration and click the green triangle-shaped Run button

Troubleshooting

  • Board not detected: verify COM port and drivers.
  • Upload fails: reflash MicroPython firmware and verify exclusions so large or irrelevant files are not uploaded.

For further help, open an issue on the repository.

About

Low-power DC measurement and logging system using a Seeed Studio XIAO-ESP32S3-Plus with an Adafruit microSD Card BFF shield and a Texas Instrument INA228 measurement module.

Topics

Resources

Stars

0 stars

Watchers

0 watching

Forks

Releases

Contributors

Languages